photo of Shannon Sampson


Shannon Sampson, Ph.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor
Evaluation Center Director
Department of Educational Policy Studies & Evaluation
143D Taylor Education Building

Shannon Sampson, Ph.D., is Director for the Evaluation Center. Dr. Sampson’s doctorate is in Educational Policy and Evaluation with an emphasis in Assessment and Evaluation related to Foreign Language and English Language Learners. She worked in Fayette County Public Schools as a Spanish teacher and later a District-wide resource specialist for Foreign Language and English Language teachers. She has taught graduate courses in evaluation, measurement, research methods, quantitative methods, and foreign language pedagogy at the University of Kentucky and Georgetown College Graduate School. She has also provided professional development for teachers in Temuco, Chile, on the assessment of student learning. Dr. Sampson is a member of the graduate faculty in the Educational Policy Studies and Evaluation department in the College of Education.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board has actively supported the Evaluation Center from its founding in the fall of 2013. The Advisory Board is comprised of members from various College of Education departments and provides planning, oversight, and administrative and sustainability guidance.

Allan Allday, Ph.D., Department of Early Childhood, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling
Dr. Margaret BauschEd.D., Senior Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Student Success
Susan Cantrell, Ed.D., Research Director of Collaborative Center for Literacy Development
Sycarah Fisher, Ph.D., Department of Educational, School, and Counseling Psychology
Beth Goldstein, Ph.D., Department Chair of Educational Policy Studies and Evaluation
George Hruby, Ph.D., Executive Director of Collaborative Center for Literacy Development
Mindy Ickes, Ph.D., Department of Kinesiology and Health Promotion
Jane Jensen, Ph.D., Department of Educational Policy Studies and Evaluation
Cindy Jong, Ph.D., Department of STEM Education
Joan Mazur, Ph.D., Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Lu Young, Ed.D., Department of Educational Leadership Studies

Graduate Research Assistants

The Evaluation Center has supported the work of 12 research assistants since 2014.

photo of Jennifer Stuck

Jennifer Stuck is a master’s student in the Counseling Psychology department of the University of Kentucky. She earned her BA in Psychology from Columbia College, with minors in Gender & Women’s Studies and Literature. Jennifer has experience with both quantitative and qualitative research methods, and has conducted research on the influence of gender schemas in fairy tales on the formation of gender identity and presentation, and media’s perpetuation of gender stereotypes & its impact on young women. She is a member of Dr. Candice Crowell’s RISE research lab. Jennifer is a research assistant for the Evaluation Center, and is currently working on CAPT-ED and other projects.