Gifts Lead to Start of PAWS Program

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

by Brad Duncan Thanks to a gift from University of Kentucky alumni Steve and Elaine Harris and funds from the George and Betty Blanda Endowed Professorship, the College of Education kicked off the Physical Activity and Wellness Schools (PAWS) Program in October. PAWS will utilize resources and faculty from the … Read More

Endowed Scholarship Formed in Memory of Father

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Chris Black knew growing up the importance of education. His father, William, made sure he knew. And because of that devotion to education, Black honored his father in 2008 by establishing the William R. Black Fund for Educators Endowed Scholarship. “My father believed that much of the greatness of our … Read More

Professor Xin Ma’s MathCounts Team Finds Success

posted in: EDC, News | 0

What a difference a year makes. After solid performances from his MathCounts team in 2008, College of Education professor Xin Ma led the Winburn Middle School squad to even greater heights in 2009. Winburn students Valerie Sarge and Vania Ma finished in first and second place, respectively, at the 2009 … Read More

Mark Abel Studies Firefighter Fitness and Performance

posted in: KHP | 0

by Brad Duncan Thanks to support from the Kentucky Fire Commission, University of Kentucky College of Education Assistant Professor Mark Abel has been conducting a six-month investigation into ways to improve the health and fireground performance of firefighters. Abel, a faculty member in the Department of Kinesiology and Health Promotion, … Read More

Faculty Receive Internationalization Grants

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Seven College of Education faculty members were chosen in 2008-09 as the inaugural recipients of small grants earmarked for supporting projects geared toward program improvement with research and/or curricular implications and designed to enhance international partnerships. These projects that receive funding incorporate international travel as an integral part of the … Read More

Alum Chosen as Kentucky’s History Teacher of the Year

posted in: Alumni, Honors | 0

College of Education alumna Beth Randolph was named Kentucky’s 2009 History Teacher of the Year. The Kentucky award is administered by the Kentucky Historical Society (KHS) and sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Randolph, who received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in elementary education, has taught at … Read More

Six Faculty Members Receive Promotions

posted in: EDC, EDP, EDSRC, Honors, News | 0

The University of Kentucky Board of Trustees approved the applications for promotion and/or tenure of six College of Education faculty members at its June 9, 2009, meeting. The approved actions included: Malachy Bishop, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, from Associate Professor (with tenure) to Professor (with tenure); Jennifer Grisham-Brown, Special … Read More

PAWS Institute Held for Local Teachers

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

In October 2008, the UK College of Education Department of Kinesiology and Health Promotion (KHP) announced the kick-off of the Physical Activity and Wellness Schools Program (PAWS). As part of the program’s ongoing efforts, KHP faculty held the inaugural PAWS Institute on Friday, June 12, at Lexington’s Bryan Station High … Read More

1 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 59