2013 Teacher of the Year

by Amanda Nelson Four University of Kentucky College of Education alumni have been selected by the Kentucky Department of Education and Ashland Inc. as recipients of the 2014 Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards (TAA). These teachers qualify to compete for the 2014 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award, which will … Read More

Smithsonian Selects Swan for Senior Fellowship

by Amanda Nelson Kathy Swan has been awarded the Senior Goldman Sachs Fellowship at the Smithsonian’s American History Museum in Washington D.C.  Swan is an associate professor in the Department of Curriculum & Instruction. Swan is working with the education team to help make online collections more interactive and accessible … Read More

College of Education Students on Spring SEC Academic Honor Roll

by Amanda Nelson Several UK College of Education students from UK’s spring sports teams made the Southeastern Conference Spring Sports Academic Honor Roll. A total of 1,247 student-athletes from around the league earned spots on the honor roll, which is based on grades from the 2012 summer, 2012 fall and … Read More

Rostosky to Receive Alumnus Award from UT

Staff Report Sherry Rostosky, professor in the UK College of Education Department of Educational, School and Counseling Psychology, will receive the 2013 Distinguished Alumnus award from the Department of Psychology in the University of Tennessee College of Arts & Sciences. “I am very excited to be the first counseling psychologist … Read More

Deanna Henderson Receives Annual Adelstein Award

by Brad Duncan Suffering from a visual impairment since 1999 that has left her legally blind, UK College of Education student Deanna Henderson was recently one of two UK students awarded the annual Carol S. Adelstein Outstanding Student Award. Named for the wife of retired UK English professor Michael Adelstein … Read More

15 Education Students Named to SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll

The UK College of Education placed 15 students on the 2012 Spring Sports Southeastern Conference (SEC) Academic Honor, which was announced by SEC Commissioner Mike Slive. The 2012 Spring SEC Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2011 summer and fall terms and the 2012 spring term. Among … Read More

Mary John O’Hair Receives National Innovation Award

Mary John O’Hair has been honored by AdvancED® with the AdvancED Innovation Award for her unparalleled leadership in promoting and advancing excellence in global and international education. O’Hair received the award on Tuesday, June 26, at the AdvancED International Summit 2012 in Washington, D.C. Since becoming Dean of the College … Read More

Educators Honored as Teachers Who Made a Difference

by Brad Duncan As the familiar refrain of the University of Kentucky Fight Song reverberated through the UK Student Center Theater, Matthew Mitchell was caught by surprise. It was then that senior UK women’s basketball player Keyla Snowden approached the stage to present her coach with a Teachers Who Made … Read More

1 2 3 4 5 6