Dean Cibulka Named Next President of NCATE

James G. Cibulka, dean of the University of Kentucky College of Education, has been named the next president of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). The NCATE Executive Board ratified his appointment May 9, 2008. Cibulka has a long and distinguished record in higher education. Prior to … Read More

Meyer Named 2008 Kentucky Special Education Teacher of the Year

Selina Meyer, a graduate of the University of Kentucky College of Education, was named the 2007-08 Kentucky Special Education Teacher of the Year by the Kentucky Department of Education and the Kentucky Council of Exceptional Children (KYCEC). Meyer teaches students with functional mental disabilities at Indian Trail Elementary School in … Read More

Finalists Named for SEC’s Student-Athlete of the Year Award

Juggling college life, work and extracurricular activities can be a daunting task for many. However, College of Education students Ashley Dimkich and Greg Dombrowski are examples of how it can be done with excellent results. Dimkich and Dombrowski were named finalists for the Southeastern Conference’s H. Boyd McWhorter Student-Athlete of … Read More

Faculty and Students Make Impact at AERA Annual Meeting

The UK College of Education made an impact at the American Educational Research Association (AERA) annual meeting in March. Thirty-seven faculty members and students participated in numerous presentations and panels, presenting their research to members of the national organization. “Research productivity is one of the core missions of the UK … Read More

Rehabilitation Counseling Seminar hosted by College of Education

In early April, the UK College of Education Graduate Program in Rehabilitation Counseling hosted a national seminar focused on an ongoing concern among the rehabilitation community. Co-sponsored by the Rho Zeta Chapter of the Chi Sigma Iota Counseling Honor Society and the UK Rehabilitation Counseling Student Association, the seminar entitled … Read More

Faculty and Students Make Presentations at NASP

With 4,500 members in attendance at the 2008 National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) Convention in March three UK College of Education faculty members and three students were among the select number who gave presentations on their research or current topics in the field. Melissa Wheatley, first-year doctoral student, presented … Read More

Thelin Honored by Omicron Delta Kappa

On the evening of April 13, 2008, in conjunction with the University of Kentucky’s Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) initiation ceremony, the national organization presented John Thelin, University Research Professor in the UK College of Education, with the Eldridge W. Roark Meritorious Service Award. The Roark award is presented to individuals … Read More

Thelin Honored by National Education Association

John Thelin, professor of educational policy studies and evaluation in the College of Education, received a 2007 National Education Association Excellence in the Academy Award at the 2008 NEA Higher Education Conference held in Washington, D.C., March 28-30. Thelin, a university research professor in Educational Policy Studies and Evaluation, received … Read More

1 2 3 4 5